Amber Fore

Wedding - May 2014

My husband and I got married May 3, 2014 at The Water's Edge. One of our main reasons we chose to have it there was because of the beautiful scenery and lakes. We went with the weekend package, which was really nice. It allowed us to have the rehearsal, wedding, and reception all at the same place. We honestly couldn't be happier with how our wedding turned out! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone! 

Heather Forcherio

Wedding - May 2014

The Water's Edge is a wonderful wedding venue. The rustic scenery paired with beautiful water made for outstanding pictures and a memorable experience. The top notch staff is willing to answer any questions and help make your special day stress-free. 

Christina Whitney
Wedding - September 7, 2013

"The Water's Edge was the perfect place to have my wedding. The grounds were well kept and there was plenty of space for my guests. Amy was very helpful and willing to do whatever it took to make my event special."

Tucker & Kelly Flottman

Wedding - June 2016

We couldn't have found a better location for our wedding, and the price for the weekend package was unbeatable. We used the boathouse for the rehearsal dinner, the gazebo for the ceremony, and the indoor hall for the reception. Having everything all in one place and being able to stay in the lodge and get ready there made everything go so smoothly.

It was very convenient for all of our out of town family to only have to drive to one location. Our guests kept commenting on how beautiful the property was, and the view made for some terrific pictures. Because of the water on either side of the gazebo area, even though it was a hot June summer, it felt comfortable. The morning of the wedding, I was able to wake up, walk around the property, and enjoy the fresh air. It was such a relaxing start to the day.

Amy is very responsive and will help answer any questions you might have! We loved having our wedding here. It was the first place we looked at, and we are convinced we could not have found anything better.

Aaron & Katelynn Speas

Wedding - April 2016

Aaron and I loved that we were able to have our wedding at The Water's Edge. The grounds of the venue are absolutely beautiful, and help create a romantic setting without a great deal of decoration! This was the perfect place to have our dream wedding. We were able to customize the layout of each space to fit our needs. No other location would have given us all that The Water's Edge was able to because of its beautiful views and atmosphere. Our family and guests loved the venue and felt it fit our personalities perfectly! Hands down this is the best place in Southeast Missouri to have a wedding! Absolutely love The Water's Edge.

Kathleen & Seth Little

Wedding - May 2017

Choosing to have our wedding at The Water's Edge was one of the best decisions we made about our wedding. Living up in St. Louis made it difficult to be down there at times, but Amy was always only a text away. She was so helpful in planning and answering questions. 

When the big day was finally here everything turned out absolutely perfect. The beautiful scenery made not only for a gorgeous backdrop for our ceremony, but for some breathtaking pictures as well. Many people told us that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. We would definitely recommend The Water's Edge to anyone who asked. It was absolutely perfect.

Katelynn & Andrew Thompson

Wedding - June 2016

We knew the second we saw The Water's Edge that it was where we wanted to get married. The property was absolutely breathtaking and we had from Friday - Sunday. The extra time made it super easy to have plenty of time to set up without feeling rushed. Hands down the best option in the Cape Girardeau area.

Danielle Wilkinson

Wedding - May 4, 2013

Have loved this place since the first time I saw it! Perfect for a smaller wedding! Beautiful backgrounds year round as well! Thank you for being the perfect location for our dream wedding!

Tawnie & Alan Stevens

Wedding - June2017

When we came to tour the Water's Edge we instantly fell in love. It had so much to offer and a lovely homey feel. It was the first venue we toured and ended up being the only. The pictures on the website were gorgeous but as soon as we pulled in and seen it in person we were ready to have our wedding there right that second. I didn’t have to worry too much about décor, I didn’t have to worry about space, I didn’t even have to worry about where photos were going to be taken. Everything about the Water’s Edge was comforting and made me feel less stressed just being there. Instead, it was like being on vacation. Most of all, my family and friends felt at home. We enjoyed every second of what the Water's Edge had to offer. We just didn’t want to leave!

Taylor & Chloe Herbst 

Wedding - October 2015

We were married at The Water's Edge October 24, 2015!! We love that we decided to get married at this venue. We had all day Friday to decorate, and we even had our rehearsal dinner there as well! Even though it rained the majority of the time before the ceremony we were still able to get the pictures we needed under the pavilion which still provided fantastic views. (Side note: it stopped raining 20 minutes before the ceremony and stayed dry the remainder of the time). Amy was a big help throughout the entire process. Anytime we had questions she was quick with an answer! We got tons of compliments on how beautiful the venue was. It really speaks for itself! We didn't have to do much decorating at all! 

We had about 200 people that attended. We had the boat house and reception hall set up for people to eat at. Since the weather was beautiful we had our dance under the pavilion which provided ample room for everyone to get out there and boogie!

Leslie Watkins

Wedding - January 2015

Water's Edge is a beautiful place to have an event. We had our wedding in January and even then it was beautiful with the ice on the ponds. The cabin was very nice! I could have stayed longer. It is very clean and well kept as well as the other buildings. I would recommend anyone looking for a venue to consider Water's Edge for weddings or reunions or any other gatherings. 

Ciara & Eric Joplin

Wedding - April 2017

Everything about The Water's Edge is perfect! With the cabin, the boathouse, the views, and the water there is truly nothing like it in the Cape Girardeau area. It is a very gorgeous venue and we kept getting compliments from our guests. We also loved not having to travel on our wedding day. It was so relaxing to have the ceremony and reception in the same location. Plus, Amy is fabulous to work with and will always answer any questions that you may have! We would highly suggest The Water's Edge for any and all special events!

Mandy Ledbetter

Wedding - August 2015

I was married at The Water's Edge on August 8th. I cannot explain how perfect and smoothly everything came together. The venue itself is absolutely gorgeous so I didn't have to decorate, except for the reception hall. The view is absolutely breathtaking. I personally wanted a stress-free weekend, we set up on Friday, had my wedding and reception on Saturday and took everything down on Sunday. I have recommended The Water's Edge to everyone I know.

Lacey & Shannon Barber

Wedding - August 2014

My husband and I got married August 23, 2014 at The Water's Edge. Our wedding was our dream come true of our big day! We wanted an outside wedding! We were so back and forth because of the weather and it being a late August wedding until we went and toured the Water's Edge! We fell absolutely in love with the atmosphere. It was everything that we wanted with a place for us to have the wedding if the weather wasn't cooperating! There was a place where we could have rehearsal, a rehearsal dinner, get ready, the wedding, and reception, which made the whole weekend less stressful on us and we never felt rushed, which every bride wants. Our family and guests couldn't believe how beautiful it was. Amy and her family were absolutely wonderful, and kept in contact with us through the whole wedding. I would suggest The Water's Edge for anyone for their big day!!! Thanks Water's Edge for making our big day a dream come true.

Alicia Schaefer

Wedding - October 2014

Having our wedding at The Waters Edge made our day a dream come true. The location was accommodating through the whole weekend along with Amy and her family. The venue is absolutely beautiful and well kept up. I couldn't had asked for anything more.

Callie Herzog

Wedding - May 2014

There's nowhere in Missouri that could have been more perfect for our wedding than the Water's Edge. All the buildings give perfect views of the water and provide several places for guests to mingle. Amy was great to work with and made planning for our big day a breeze. We want to get remarried so we can have an excuse to go back!

Kayla Droege 

Wedding - October 12, 2013

"The best thing about having our wedding at Water's Edge was the flexibility it provided. So many options were available to us and the people were so easy to work with. For instance, we were planning an outdoor ceremony in the gazebo. Unfortunately, it rained on our wedding day, but we were able to easily move the ceremony inside and it was just as beautiful. Planning was so easy since we were able to host everything on site (rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, reception). In addition, the setting is gorgeous and now we have the most beautiful pictures. I would recommend Water's Edge to anyone who asked!" 


LaGena Strobel
Event - June 21, 2013

"I hosted a fundraiser at Water's Edge and it was a huge success!!!! Everyone enjoyed the scenery and the staff was very accommodating! Definitely planning on hosting our next fundraiser with Water's Edge again!"

Testimonials From Our Clients


Erica Balsman

Wedding - April 2014

My husband and I got married April 26, 2014 at The Water's Edge. Amy was so helpful with payment plans and staying organized, which let's face it...every bride needs someone like Amy for help! We had the weekend package, so our rehearsal dinner, wedding and honeymoon night was all spent there. It was perfect, clean, spacious and updated! Our guests loved the fact there was no drag time in between the wedding and reception, plus no worries with leaving a church and hunting down the reception hall since it was all right there in the same location! Everyone from our wedding loved the landscape, scenery of the lake and cabin, but especially the lights all over the venue! It was peaceful, relaxing and very romantic. Hands down, the best wedding venue I know of in Cape!

Callie Herzog

Wedding - May 2014

There's nowhere in Missouri that could have been more perfect for our wedding than the Water's Edge. All the buildings give perfect views of the water and provide several places for guests to mingle. Amy was great to work with and made planning for our big day a breeze. We want to get remarried so we can have an excuse to go back!

Kacie Golliher
Wedding - June 15, 2013

"When we began the search for our wedding venue, we were shocked to learn what we would get at The Water's Edge for the price we paid. Compared to other venues, it was far more reasonably priced AND having access to the facilities for the WHOLE weekend made our wedding so much less stressful and more enjoyable! The Water's Edge was the best money we spent on our wedding! Amy was a pleasure to work with and the facility was beautiful!"

Katie Foshee

Wedding - August 2014

Wes and I loved our entire experience at The Water’s Edge. It was wonderful to have our ceremony and celebration just feet apart (and only miles from town); not to mention the incredibly gorgeous backdrop that required only minimal decorations! The relaxing atmosphere and lake-side views were a hit with our family and friends. We couldn’t have asked for a better venue.

Ashley Sparkman

Wedding - September 20, 2014

Thank you The Water's Edge: A Wedding & Special Event Retreat L.L.C. For providing the perfect venue for our dream wedding! You made every step of the way easy and enjoyable! The location is like no other around and you were so helpful with everything! Your venue set the tone for what turned out to be an absolutely perfect wedding day!

Alexandria & Chris Orta

Wedding - September 2017

The Water’s Edge was the perfect for center of our wedding planning. The location and amenities made it the perfect oasis for the entire weekend. The cabin was a great place for the entire bridal party to get ready and relax before the wedding. The scenery created a beautiful backdrop for our ceremony and made for a wonderful evening of relaxing by the fire and enjoying the night. The flexibility of the event space was wonderful and can be used in so many ways. Amy was so helpful and so great to work with. We would recommend The Water’s Edge to anyone looking for a gorgeous wedding venue or for any other event.

Justin & Whitney Keen 

Wedding - December 2015

Justin and I got Married at The Waters Edge on Saturday, December 19, 2015. Even though it was the middle of December the lake surrounding the property gave the magical setting to my wedding that I always dreamed I would have. The owners were great! If I had any issue they were understanding and helpful, which made our day so much easier. I also loved the fact that I had the property all weekend, which gave us plenty of time to decorate, enjoy our wedding, sleep in a nice cabin, and have time to clean up the next day. I couldn't have picked a better place to have one of the most important days of my life at.

Dustin & Lauren Hicks

Wedding - June 2016

I would recommend The Water's Edge to anyone! It is absolutely beautiful. We had the most perfect day! Beautiful setting, and the staff was wonderful! They made sure the place was cleaned, set up and ready to go. I wouldn't have changed a thing!

Jake & Shannon Valleroy

Wedding - May 2016

Jake and I were married at The Water's Edge in May of 2016. We had the entire location from Friday thru Monday and loved the freedom it gave us for set up and tear down, as well as the benefits of everything, including the rehearsal dinner and wedding party preparations, being in one place. All of our guests thought the location was beautiful, and we loved the outdoor setting we had, with the indoor locations in case of bad weather.

Brandon & Jamie Liebeknecht

Wedding - April 2016

Brandon and I got married on April 16 this year at The Water's Edge and I can honestly say I wouldn't have changed a thing about our special day. The location and everything included in the package we purchased was perfect. We had the location from Friday to Sunday which allowed us enough time to set up and tear down without being stressed. I highly recommend this location for any occasion. Absolutely wonderful.

Logan & Chelsea Royer

Wedding - September 2016

This location could not have been more perfect for us! The outdoor setting was exactly what we wanted for our rustic style wedding. The weather was beautiful and the scenery outside made for great photos. By renting the area for the whole weekend we were able to have everything we needed in one place which was a huge plus. The convenience of having the cabin on site both before and after the wedding made everything that much easier. Amy was great to work with and let us have the freedom to make our wedding exactly the way we wanted it. It really was the best day ever!

Halie & Matt Howard

Wedding - June 2015

Water's Edge was a beautiful place for our wedding! There were so many options for each detail. Everyone had a blast and it was a great day. It's a nice place, inside and out. Thank you!

Christina & Eric Miles

Wedding - July 2016

Getting married at The Water's Edge was nothing less than perfect! Even though it was calling for rain, the sun shined through and we had our beautiful outdoor wedding that we had dreamed of! This place is gorgeous and well worth the money! I will be recommending this place to everyone I know!

Kristin & John Smith

Wedding - April 2017

The Water's Edge was amazing! Beautiful scenery with the fountains, lakes, and wildlife. Our wedding wouldn't have been so amazing if it wasn't for this resort. The hospitality of the cabin was the icing on the cake for John and I. No complaints whatsoever, our wedding weekend was an unforgettable experience for us and it wouldn't have been possible if it wasn't for The Water's Edge.

Rene & Justin Rice

Wedding - July 2016

The Water's Edge was the perfect place for our wedding! It is absolutely beautiful and has plenty of space to accommodate any wedding size. There are also plenty of options in case of weather. We had this venue for the whole weekend which made it easier to plan for the rehearsal, set-up and take down. Working with Amy was such a pleasure. We couldn't have asked for a better place!

Elizabeth & Travis Jones

Wedding - April 2017

We knew from the pictures that The Water’s Edge was our venue. I fell in love with the whole property when I visited in person. Amy is so helpful and quick to answer any questions I had. We originally planned to have the ceremony outside, but due to rain we moved to the boathouse. It was very convenient to have the rehearsal, ceremony, and reception all in the same place. We had so many compliments on how beautiful the venue was. I would definitely recommend The Water’s Edge to anyone getting married.

Eric & Kimber Niswonger 

Wedding - April 2016

Having our wedding at The Water's Edge was a dream come true. Our wedding was April 9th, we were so worried about the possibility of rain. We opted to do something a little different and get married in the Boathouse! It was a beautiful backdrop with the exposed beams and lake in the background. I highly recommend this venue to anyone who loves the outdoors. It was truly the best of both worlds accommodating indoors and out.

Brittany & Milton Gray

Wedding - July 2017

We just got married here July 15, 2017 and the place was amazing!!!!! Beautiful scenery, lake, the place it self was well worth the price and drive for us. I am glad I was able to find this place to celebrate a very happy moment with my husband, kids and family. The owner was great working with us from a distance and treated us with respect throughout the whole process. Thank you. Be looking for our business again.  

Shelby & Drew Johnson

Wedding - July 2015

July 18, 2015 was our big day at The Waters Edge and it was absolutely perfect. Throughout my whole wedding process I was so happy with our decision to use The Waters Edge! It was such a hot day, but the shade and the reception hall helped to keep our guests cool.

The cabin was so useful to get ready for the big day, there was plenty of space for our big group of guests, and the scenery is breathtaking... So keeping it simple with the decorations still makes a beautiful wedding!

I've recommended The Water's Edge to several people, and will continue to do so in the future! It's wonderful to have great people in your life to be with you and help you on your big day, but it's also nice to have a stress free wedding venue! smile emoticon Thank you to The Water's Edge and the wonderful people who run it! 


Sally & Michael Hammontree

Wedding - April 2017

Justin and I knew right from the start we wanted an outdoor wedding. A friend mentioned the Water's Edge to us. We had never heard of it until then. We messaged Amy, got a tour and fell in love!! We got married April 1, 2017. The trees were just coming to life, the water was a beautiful backdrop all on its own. We knew we wanted a venue where everything could be in one place. The cabin for the weekend made my life so much easier! We set up on Friday with no worries on Saturday! Justin and I stayed the night of our wedding at the cabin and woke up to make sure our things were all taken down. It was so nice to not be rushed in one day to set up, celebrate, and tear down. Amy is such a nice person, we really enjoyed working with her. Our friends and family loved the Water's Edge and were in awe of its natural beauty. I hope some of my friends decide this is the place for them! It's definitely a place I want to revisit.

Fran Lovell

Wedding - April 13, 2013

"Such a beautiful, serene place to have a wedding reception! The lodge, reception hall, and the outdoor areas are perfect!"

Jason & Molly Wilhelm 

Wedding - December 2015

We were married on an unseasonably warm December 22, 2015 at The Water's Edge. I was particularly adamant on using the boat house for our intimate ceremony and thankfully the weather helped us out! Between the ethereal feel of the boat house and the twinkling Christmas lights in the main hall our wedding was just the warm winter masterpiece we wanted! The landscape made for a gorgeous backdrop for our pictures and the rustic terrain was the perfect compliment to my completely non rustic dress and decor! Amy was super easy to work with and made our wedding weekend so memorable! 

Heather & Kelly Moore

Wedding - August 2016

The location was perfect for us! Location was great for both of our families distance wise. Setting was gorgeous & went beautifully with our decor. Loved the outdoor feel, but was also very weather accommodating. Best day ever! We got so many compliments on how well it went with our style. A huge thank you to Amy & family on how well they worked with us!

Tori & Gregory Brawley

Wedding - June 2016

The Water's Edge was wonderful, beautiful, clean and very convenient!

Heather White

Wedding - October 5, 2013

"All of our guests loved this location. There is plenty of space and indoor facilities available in case of rain."